

COMMONWEALTH NURSES AND MIDWIVES FEDERATION

e-News Vol.18 Issue 1 January 2025

ASIA REGION

Mrs Evelyn Kannan is the General Secretary of the Trained Nurses Association

of India (TNAI), which was founded in 1908. Evelyn's

term on the CNMF Board

Meet the CNMF Board

The CNMF is governed by a Constitution and an elected Board representative of all regions of the Commonwealth. The CNMF has six regions:

- West Africa;
- East, Central and Southern Africa;
- Asia;
- Atlantic;
- Pacific: and
- Europe.

The CNMF President and Deputy President are elected by all full members of the CNMF, serve a four year term, and are eligible for re-election for a further four year term.

The CNMF Regional Board Members are elected by all full members in their region and serve one four year term only.

The CNMF elections are staggered so that not all Board Members are replaced at the same time. This allows for continuity, seamless transition, and sharing of organisational knowledge and history.

Professor Kathleen McCourt was first elected as CNMF President in 2018 and is serving her second term which concludes in 2026. Kath is from the United Kingdom.





Mrs Rosemarie Josey was also elected in 2018 and is serving her second term which concludes in 2026. Rosemarie is from the Bahamas.



ECSA REGION

concludes in 2026.

Mr Simon Hlungwani is the President of the Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa (DENOSA). Simon's term also concludes in 2026.



WEST AFRICA REGION

Mr Nkwain Joseph has been President of the Cameroon Nurses Association since 2004. Joseph is newly elected to the CNMF Board. His term ends in 2028.



EUROPE REGION

Ms Lynn Woolsey is the Chief Nurse for the Royal College of Nursing UK. Lynn is also newly elected to the CNMF Board and her term ends in 2028.



ATLANTIC REGION

Mr Idi Stuart is President of the Trinidad and Tobago National Nurses Association. Idi's four year term also concludes in 2028.



PACIFIC REGION

Dr Alisi Vudiniabola is President of the Fiji Nursing Association. Alisi I newly elected to the CNMF Board and her term also ends in 2028.